A few of my favourite things

It was suggested as a post topic that I wax poetic over the things I love. Naturally, I interpreted this as a request to talk about my favourite foods; everyone wants to know what the dietitian really eats, right? I generally really like food and eating, so it’s hard for me to really pinpoint an item that takes top spot. If I had to choose my last meal right now, I’d really have no idea what to pick, there’s just too much deliciousness out there. Here is my attempt to categorize my tastes.

My favourite breakfast is toast with peanut butter and banana. I eat that 5 days a week, and I never get sick of it. It’s filling and hearty. If I happen to be going out for breakfast, my favourite choice is eggs benedict. Its richness is simply unparalleled. It is a beautiful sunny morning on a plate, ready to wrap you in warmth and tuck you into a dreamy mid-afternoon nap once you’ve finished. Delightful.

My favourite vegetable is probably swiss chard. Lightly blanched and sauteed with olive oil and garlic. There is nothing with which that green does not pair; it undoubtedly makes every meal better. I really can’t choose a favourite fruit. At one point bananas would have qualified but not since I’ve been eating them daily. I love fresh strawberries that I picked from the strawberry patch. I love cara cara oranges, juicy tangy, pink-fleshed navels that are only available during the North American winter. I love pineapple all the time. But I hate papaya. I want to like so much but even fresh papaya from the tree leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

My favourite meal is dessert, closely followed by breakfast. I’m a sugar junkie, always have been. I’ve often said that if I could find a way to be healthy while living solely on cookies, I would do that. I’m still plugging away at that cause.

My favourite cookie is an oreo. Oreo flavour or topping will always be my top choice, particularly for ice cream based desserts. I love the deep chocolate flavour (without any of the waxiness of actual chocolate), balanced with the creamy vanilla centre.

My favourite meals are the ones we eat at home, usually the ones I make. I like to cook, I like the way I cook, and I like the types of vegetables (namely, a lot of them) I use. I enjoy eating out once in a while, but it doesn’t take long for the novelty to wear off and for me to look for dishes done the way I like them.

My favourite foods to eat out are any type of Asian cuisine. I try to replicate it at home, but it’s never as good. My husband makes a couple of excellent Indian dishes that are often better than the restaurant versions. I consider myself a decent cook, adept at most culinary styles, but I have a hard time with eastern dishes. I am very happy to leave it to the professionals and enjoy a nice night out, and try not to eat too much.

My favourite fast supper at home is black bean fajitas. Black beans, sauteed green peppers and onions, home made fajita spice, home made guacamole, and salsa all wrapped up in a whole wheat tortilla and ready in 30 minutes. What’s not to love. I would probably make it a lot more often if the rest of my household didn’t tire of it so quickly.

My favourite beverage is water. No jokes, I truly love it. Just plain, no additions, no ice necessary. I do enjoy my daily coffees, and occasional other beverages, but water is my go to. I’m quite certain I would love it even if there weren’t any concerns about a high intake of caffeinated or caloric beverages.

So there we go, a few of my favourite things.

Leave a Reply

